Gotta have the bad to get the good

Lately I have been over thinking. What I mean to say is, that I have really been thinking about what is the point of when something bad happens. I truly believe that everything in life must balance out. If you think back to when something in your life happened that was bad, awful or really just shook you to your core. Ask yourself, did something good come out of it? Usually you will notice that some good did come out of it. Fair enough, simple and cliche.

If we all went through life unhurt and unscathed, would we appreciate it or would we just be walking unfeeling zombies. If you never experienced hurt, then how would you know what happiness felt like? If you never experienced utter joy, then how would you know sadness? You would have nothing to compare or contrast in your system, nothing to gauge or help to evaluate where you are in life.  These experiences that we go through are our life reminders of what either we will not tolerate or how good one might have it now. It is a personal benchmark of where we have come from and what we have gone through, these experiences helped to shape us.

What sparked this thought? During my commute on the bus in the morning, I gather my thoughts and prepare for that day. I reflect on which kids might have a problem and think about their lives. These kids have a really hard life, much harder than most of us that are reading this blog post. It saddens me and I catch myself wondering, why they were chosen for this path. I then remind myself that my job is to help guide them down the right path in life, supporting them through these tumultuous times. One day, their balance will be restored, they are on the way to a much better place.

I think back to life experiences that I had in my life, when I was hurt and it makes me that much happier and satisfied with where I am today. If you never had that bad relationship or job, would you appreciate the one you are in right now? I wonder, if I never had that, would I be as grateful? Would you?

3 responses to “Gotta have the bad to get the good

  1. Life is all about having that balance. Even through positive thinking and being optimistic, there are still going to be bad times. And that’s ok. That’s life. What is there to learn in life if you can’t go through some type of adversity?

    But you’re right, it’ll make you appreciate those good times even more and make the most of them.

    You’ll never truly experience one end of emotion until you’ve experienced the antithesis.

  2. It is yin and yang.

    There is an email that I cherish. It was sent to me at a truly personal low-point. There is a quote from that note… “When we long for life without difficulties, remind us that oaks grow strong in contrary winds and diamonds are made under pressure.”

    Thanks for posting this article. The kids are fortunate to have you as their teacher.

  3. Once again creepy…if you care to know why…read my about me section…http://www.myspace.com/nat_i_licious

Leave a Reply

