Don’t wait on tomorrows…

Beach where I grew up in the summers... my place of refuge

Beach where I grew up in the summers... my place of refuge

Sometimes I think that we all forget the big picture and get caught up with the iotas of imperfections in our lives. We can take a beautiful thing and over analyze it thinking that something has to be wrong, when it’s not. It is so hard to just go with the flow, fearing that something will go wrong, so we self-sabotage. Sometimes it’s easier to not have something than have it and wait for it to fail, even if it never does.

Last year, I lost a lot of people in my life. It put things in perspective for me. It made me realize what was important and to not sweat the small stuff.  Four people (not including my neighbor) died in my life that were much to young to die, none from a natural cause. Each felt like a punch in the gut.

I learned from this to be grateful for what I had and not to expect that there will  be a tomorrow.  I learned to live in the moment, not to assume that relationships or people will be available in the future.  I learned that people and relationships are important, not work or money. When something happens in my life now, I just think about what they would do. I have stopped “thinking” about the repercussions of my actions and just if it feels “right”. If it feels right, then I go with it, I go with my “gut instinct”.   I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but I do know that I don’t want to have any regrets. Life is too short for unnecessary baggage. I think if we all stopped sweating things we can not change or are minuscule and focused on the positive aspects of our lives we would be in a much better place in our lives. If something happened to you today, would you have any regrets? What is holding you back from making it right?

5 responses to “Don’t wait on tomorrows…

  1. well said – one cannot buy back time for family and friends.

  2. Good post. I have been thinking about that very same thing. Its friends, family, and people that matter above all else.

  3. Your post about losing people touched me. I lost my mom in 1990 to colon cancer, she was 51. I was born when she was 17 so we grew up together and became best friends. Losing her created a huge hole in my life. After nineteen years I still miss her and think of her every day. I have created a website/blog where I do my best to honor her memory and what she stood for, as well as her mother, my maternal grandmother. Would you take just a moment and visit me at http://www.nanahood.com and if you like what you see would you consider linking to me or posting about my site? Thank you and blessings to you and your aching heart.

  4. Why does it take death to realize how precious life really is? We are told to not sweat the small stuff, to appreciate the moments, to live in the now, but often it isn’t until someone we love passes we realize all these things. Here’s to always smelling the roses.

  5. I have no regrets in my life. I am blessed and everything that has
    happen is a blessings.

Leave a Reply

